top of page

The Who, What, When, Where, and Why.

When I step back and think of these 5 words throughout my running journey, my responses to them have changed durastically since I started running, compared to where I am today with the sport. It is often a huge challenge to get "into" something new, especially if you do not have a direct commitment to the activity. As you read my "starting out" vs "today" responses, I invite you to consider how my mental state likely made immersing myself into running more challenging than my physical fitness level.

Who? (Who am I? Who do I want to run with?)

Starting Out - I am not a runner. I never want to run with people because I will hold them back. I never want to run in a race because the event will probably close before I even come close to finishing.

Today - I am a runner. All I want to do is run with people (and my dogs)! I want to train with people and I am over the moon happy to run at any pace or any distance if I get to share my passion with someone! I am addicted to races and if I had unlimited dollars I would be in a race every single weekend.

What? (What is my goal?)

Starting Out - I need to lose weight.

Today - I am determined to beat my 50km ultra time from May, 2015 (5:25:51) in May, 2016. I know that this will take an incredible amount of work and I am ready for 2 or 3 double workout days a week.

When? (When will I do my runs?)

Starting Out - I will run when I have time.

Today - I try to plan out when I will do my runs each day the week ahead. If it is not PART of my day, it is unlikely it can magically become part of my day if I have other things going on. For my training from January-June, I plan to do cross-training in the mornings and my runs 3 evenings a week. My long slow distance run I will keep for Saturday or Sunday.

Where (Where will I run?)

Starting Out - On the track, and hope that people don't think im too fat or too wierd.

Today - If the weather is perfect, there is nowhere else I would rather be running than outside. However, other than these perfect weather conditions my favourite place to rock my stride is on the treadmill! I find that it helps me set/hold a pace, and I never have to think twice about what to wear. To push myself to get outside this winter, I signed up for a a hypothermic-half in February. I set myself the goal of doing one run a week outside.

Why? (Why do I run?)

Starting Out - This one comes back to the "What is my goal?" - to lose weight.

Today - I run because I love to feel strong (mentally and physically), healthy, and unstoppable.

Considering all of the "starting out" vs "today" responses together, it is evident that the original reason I ran was because I hated my body. Today it is evident that I run because I love my body - not for what it looks like, but for what I have learned it is capable of. This mental shift that I have experienced has been beyond empowering. I welcome you to go through these 5 "W" words and respond to them with an activity that you are endeavouring. I know that it can take years to change a mental state, but please remember to be kind to your body, and gentle on your soul. If I could go back and give my "starting out" self advice I would say:

For the who... You ARE a runner. Don't be afraid of people judging you, sign up for a race and just have FUN (even if you're the last to finish, you FINISHED)! Also, other runners are SO excited to see people get into the sport and will likely do anything that they can to help support you!

For the what... Try to shift your goal from the number on the scale, to how incredible you feel. Try to make your goal to increase your running time by 30 seconds a week, not just to lose 1 lb a week. For the when... Create a routine. Your body will start to crave a workout this way, as it is just a part of what you do.

For the where... Run wherever brings you the most joy.

For the why... You are amazing and you deserve to feel insane amounts of wonderful! What is it that is going to make you feel this way?

A final thought to keep in mind as you work towards your goals:

If it can't be today,

maybe tomorrow.

If it can't be tomorrow,

maybe next week.

If not next week,

then maybe next month.

With relentless focus and hard work,

it will come.

(Meb Keflezighi - an elite runner, Runners World Magainze January/February 2016).

#rockyourstride ...Cheers to an unreal 2016 ahead!

Other Posts
bottom of page