top of page

Nutrition (and my MEGA passion for it)

Before I get going here there are two things that must be clarified.

1) I am not a dietician, a nutritionist, or anything of the sort. I have tried a number of different eating styles/habits, and have found what works best for me. And guess what? I AM SO EXCITED to share it with you!!!

2) What nutrition means to me...

Filling my soul up with coffees, wine, and all of the deliciousness and love in the

world...!!!

Never missing a nutrient loaded breakfast.

Whatever I have to do... I fit it in...!!!

Spending time with my favourite people or taking time on my own to cook meals that make my heart SO happy...!!!

AWESOME street food discoveries when travelling... I don't know if there is anything better...???

And of course, making sure my body gets EVERYTHING that it needs to perform...!!!

Okay!! Now as you can see, food is a huge part of all areas of my life. If you are reading this and we have shared a meal before, you most likely know how excited and happy it makes me as I've sat there beside you going "ohhhh myyyyy goooodnessssssss this is so goooodddddd." about 10,000 times. It fuels my body, my mind, and more than anything my soul. I have to say, proper nutrition plays a huge role in who I am and what I am able to do. People often ask me where I get my energy from (and it is ususally said in a joking way, like I was given a magic energizer bunny gene lol). BUT the secret is really not a secret... and here is the answer... I EAT SO HEALTHY 87% of the time (that equalts 26/30 days of the month where I focus on eating things that make me FEEL like I want to be active... the other 4 days which usually fall the night before a rest day, I will eat whatever my heart desires).

I am going to break the rest of this post up into 3 parts: My Musts, What I Eat on an Average Day, and Tips. I hope you enjoy!!

My favourites:

Vitamins/Minerals - Iron, Vitamin D, and Turmeric (I take these daily)

Supplements - Isagenix (I have found the most effective & beneficial for my body)

Food - Fruits & Veggies (unlimited amounts.. I probably take in at least 15 + servings a day)

Meal - A straight up serious breakfast (as noted above); I do not mess around with breakfast!!!

Intraworkout Nutrition - BCAAs during normal training periods. For any run longer than 10 miles, I will add in Cliff Blocks or Jelly Belly Sport Beans every 45 minutes (see "Tip 3" below for more on this).

What I Eat in an Average Day

Wake up / Pre-Workout - A tea I like that helps with energy/focus. If I am hungry I will have peanut butter toast. If I am not I just have the tea, otherwise I feel sluggish during my workout.

Post-Workout - Protein pancakes with lots of fruit, or a nutritional shake made with 2-3 cups of frozen fruit. There is also a coffee in there most mornings!

AM Snack - Yogurt, oatmeal, and fruit

Lunch - Nutritional shake, salad, and fruit. I will usually have a tea in the afternoon too.

PM Snack (usually this is Pre-Workout 2) - Bar (of some variety)

Supper - This one always varies... I listen to my body and what I am craving!! 700-800 calories on average of pure deliciousness!!

Later Evening - Fruit and veggies for snacks after supper, followed by a cleanse tea right before bed.

Tips

1.) Don't go crazy on ANY diet. Find the balance, otherwise I can almost promise you a "diet" is not going to be successful.

2.) If you have any weight loss or performance goals, see the doctor or a dietician to find out what your caloric and nutritional needs are.

3.) I highly recommend training with gels on long run days, especially if you are new to the "gel" world. This will give you a chance to figure out how they impact your performance. If you leave trying them until race day, you may push too hard after taking one when you feel their insta-energy. You need to learn how your body responds to them. In addition to this, I recommend experimenting with a few different flavours/brands to explore which kind is most effective for you, and to discover what flavours you like!

4) Never be embarrased to pack a lunch. Sometimes there are events where buffets are present or lunch is served. I know it can be out of the social-norm to pull something out, but sometimes social-norms just need a little shove to the side. I especially recommend this if you don't know what is being served and you have training to do anytime after the meal.

5) Find what works for you. Above I have outlined an average day for me - this is what I eat to make me feel amazing and to give me energy for life and training. This may not be the same eating pattern that makes you feel this way.

6) Try to have a routine with when you eat (and if you have weight loss or performance goals, I would also recommend somewhat of a routine with what you eat). Nutrition is just as important as training, and it is necessary for both to be thought out.

7) Enjoy every bite!! Food and flavour is such a joy!! Do not just think of food as fuel for the body, think of it also as love for the soul. What is going to make you feel energized for training? What is going to make you feel pumped for life? What is going to make you want to rock your stride?!


Other Posts
bottom of page